110V vs. 220V Car Lifts: What Power Does Your Lift Need?
Not sure your garage has the right power for a lift? You're not alone. It's one of the first questions we get, and the answer decides which lifts are even on your list. This guide tells you which lifts plug into what you already have, which ones need an electrician, and what to sort out before delivery day.
The quick answer: most four-post, portable, low-rise, mid-rise and single-post lifts we sell run on 110V. Every fixed two-post needs a dedicated 220V circuit, and so does the AMGO PRO-12SX four-post. The Triumph C-7000 is the one two-post that runs on 110V. Whatever you choose, have a licensed electrician confirm your garage can supply it before the lift ships.
Our top picks at a glance
Chosen from the lifts we carry, by the power you have to work with.
Best plug-in lift
Triumph NSS-8 Classic
A four-post listed to run from a normal garage outlet.
8,000 lbs · 110V · free-standing
Call for better pricing on this item: 1-800-771-1278
Most capacity on 110V
Triumph NSS-11
11,000 lbs without running a 220V circuit.
11,000 lbs · 110V · four-post
Call for better pricing on this item: 1-800-771-1278
Best 220V two-post
Triumph NTO-10A
Tall garages and shops ready to add a 220V circuit.
10,000 lbs · 220V, 3 HP · clear floor
Call for better pricing on this item: 1-800-771-1278
Our top picks, reviewed
Each lift's power requirement comes straight from its product listing. Here's what each one does well, and where it falls short.
Triumph NSS-8 Classic four-post lift
For garages with ordinary outlets and no plans to call an electrician.
Pros
- Listed to run on 110V from a normal garage outlet.
- About 40 seconds to full height, as fast as Triumph's 220V two-posts.
- Only 141 inches long, so it suits short bays.
Cons
- The 132-inch runways are too short for long trucks.
- 8,000 lbs of capacity.
- Wheel work needs a jack or bridge jack.
Key specs: 8,000 lbs · 110V · 72" lift height · 69" under runway · 141" long
Call for better pricing on this item: 1-800-771-1278
Triumph NSS-11 four-post lift
For trucks and big SUVs in a garage that only has 110V.
Pros
- 11,000 lbs on 110V, 60 Hz, single-phase power.
- Its listing says no dedicated circuit is needed.
- About 40 seconds to full height, with 81 inches under the runway.
Cons
- 130 inches wide and 216 inches long before the ramps.
- Unloading a 2,400 lb shipment takes a forklift or similar.
- The SJ-35 bridge jack won't fit it; the RJ-5000 will.
Key specs: 11,000 lbs · 110V · 86.5" lift height · 81" under runway · 118" drive-thru
Call for better pricing on this item: 1-800-771-1278
Triumph C-7000 portable two-post lift
For anyone who wants wheels-free lifting on household power.
Pros
- The only two-post we sell that runs on 110V.
- No dedicated circuit, no anchoring and no hardwiring.
- Posts adjust from 48 to 120 inches apart.
Cons
- 7,000 lbs of capacity.
- A 69-inch lift height, lower than our fixed two-posts.
- The listing doesn't state a lifting time.
Key specs: 7,000 lbs · 110V household power · 69" lift height · 95" tall
Call for better pricing on this item: 1-800-771-1278
AMGO LR10 portable low-rise lift
For tire, brake and body work on 110V, in any garage height.
Pros
- 10,000 lbs on 110V, with no dedicated circuit.
- No overhead structure at all.
- AMGO's warranty: 5 years structural, 3 years hydraulic, 2 years electrical.
Cons
- Raises to 24 3/16 inches, so it's not for working under the car.
- A 1.0 HP motor takes about 56 seconds to full height.
- Freight is quoted after you order.
Key specs: 10,000 lbs · 110V, 1.0 HP · 24 3/16" lift height · 4 1/8" lowered · 77 15/16" wide
Call for better pricing on this item: 1-800-771-1278
Triumph NTO-10A overhead two-post lift
For shops and tall garages ready to add a 220V circuit.
Pros
- A 3 HP motor reaches full height in about 40 seconds.
- Runs on standard single-phase 220V, what homes and most small shops have.
- An electric safety cutoff and a clear floor between the columns.
Cons
- Needs a dedicated 220V circuit installed by a licensed electrician.
- 145 inches tall.
- Permanently anchored, so it can't move with you.
Key specs: 10,000 lbs · 220V single-phase · 3 HP · 145" tall · 133" wide
Call for better pricing on this item: 1-800-771-1278
AMGO PRO-12SX four-post lift
For busy shops that want a 12,000 lb four-post and already run 220V and shop air.
Pros
- 12,000 lbs, the most of any four-post we carry.
- Runways adjust from 35 7/16 to 53 3/4 inches apart.
- About 45 seconds to full height.
Cons
- Needs both a dedicated 220V circuit and compressed air for its lock release.
- 232 5/8 inches long with the ramps.
- Runways lower to 6 11/16 inches, high for very low cars.
Key specs: 12,000 lbs · 220V single-phase, 2.0 HP · compressed air · 104 3/16" drive-thru
Call for better pricing on this item: 1-800-771-1278
How to choose the right lift for your power
Start here, then use the steps below to confirm.
| Your situation | Where to start |
|---|---|
| 110V only, want storage and general service | Triumph NSS-8 family, NSS-11 or NOS10000, or the AMGO 407-P. See our four-post lifts. |
| 110V only, need the wheels free | Triumph C-7000 or AMGO SML-7. See portable car lifts. |
| 110V only, tire, brake and body work | AMGO LR06, LR10 or MR06 |
| Renting, or can't add a circuit | Lifts listed for a normal outlet, such as the NSS-8 Classic, C-7000 or AMGO portables |
| 220V available, want a permanent two-post | Triumph NT and NTO series or AMGO BP and OH series. See two-post lifts. |
| Busy shop bay, heavy trucks | Triumph NT-16 or AMGO OH-12, on a dedicated 220V circuit |
1. Know what 110V and 220V mean
The voltage is what the lift's hydraulic power unit is built for. A 110V lift uses the same supply as most garage outlets. A 220V lift needs the heavier supply that dryers, ranges and welders use, which many home garages don't have. Listings write these numbers several ways: in a North American garage, 110, 115 and 120 describe the everyday supply, and 220, 230 and 240 describe the bigger one (here's some plain-English background).
2. Check your exact model
Here's what every lift we sell needs, from its product listing. Where a listing doesn't state the horsepower or lifting time, we've left it blank rather than guess.
| 110V lift | Type and capacity | What the listing says about power | Motor | Lifting time |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Triumph NSS-8 | Four-post, 8,000 lbs | 110V, 30A; needs a suitable 30A receptacle | Not stated | About 40 sec |
| Triumph NSS-8XLT | Four-post, 8,000 lbs | 110V with a dedicated 30A breaker; UL-listed plug | Not stated | About 40 sec |
| Triumph NSS-8 Classic | Four-post, 8,000 lbs | 110V from a normal garage outlet | Not stated | About 40 sec |
| Triumph NSS8X-1 | Four-post, 8,000 lbs | 110V from a normal garage outlet | Not stated | About 40 sec |
| Triumph NSS-11 | Four-post, 11,000 lbs | 110V, 60 Hz, single-phase; no dedicated circuit | Not stated | About 40 sec |
| Triumph NOS10000 | Four-post, 10,000 lbs | 110V; no dedicated circuit | Not stated | About 60 sec |
| AMGO 407-P | Four-post, 7,000 lbs | 110V/60Hz single-phase; no dedicated circuit | 1.0 HP | About 83 sec |
| Triumph C-7000 | Portable two-post, 7,000 lbs | 110V household power; no dedicated circuit | Not stated | Not stated |
| AMGO SML-7 | Mobile single-post, 7,000 lbs | 110V/60Hz; no dedicated circuit | 1.0 HP | About 84 sec |
| AMGO LR06 | Portable low-rise, 6,000 lbs | 110V; no dedicated circuit | 1.0 HP | About 56 sec |
| AMGO LR10 | Portable low-rise, 10,000 lbs | 110V; no dedicated circuit | 1.0 HP | About 56 sec |
| AMGO MR06 | Portable mid-rise, 6,000 lbs | 110V single-phase; no dedicated circuit | 1.0 HP | About 56 sec |
| 220V lift | Type and capacity | What the listing says about power | Motor | Lifting time |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Triumph NT-9 | Floor plate two-post, 9,000 lbs | Dedicated 220V circuit | 3 HP | About 40 sec |
| Triumph NT-11 | Floor plate two-post, 11,000 lbs | Dedicated 220V circuit | Not stated | Not stated |
| Triumph NT-16 | Floor plate two-post, 16,000 lbs | Dedicated 220V AC circuit, single-phase | 3 HP | About 40 sec |
| Triumph NTO-10A | Overhead two-post, 10,000 lbs | Dedicated 220V single-phase circuit | 3 HP | About 40 sec |
| Triumph NTO-11A | Overhead two-post, 11,000 lbs | Dedicated 220V circuit | 3 HP | About 40 sec |
| AMGO BP-9 | Base plate two-post, 9,000 lbs | Dedicated 220V/60Hz single-phase | 2.0 HP | About 37 sec |
| AMGO OH-9 | Clear floor two-post, 9,000 lbs | Dedicated 220V/60Hz single-phase | 2.0 HP | About 57 sec |
| AMGO OH-10 | Clear floor two-post, 10,000 lbs | Dedicated 220V/60Hz single-phase | 2.0 HP | About 57 sec |
| AMGO OH-12 | Clear floor two-post, 12,000 lbs | Dedicated 220V/60Hz single-phase | 2.0 HP | About 69 sec |
| AMGO OH-12S | Clear floor two-post, 12,000 lbs | Dedicated 220V/60Hz single-phase | 2.0 HP | About 69 sec |
| AMGO PRO-12SX | Four-post, 12,000 lbs | Dedicated 220V/60Hz single-phase, plus compressed air | 2.0 HP | About 45 sec |
3. Don't assume 110V means slow
Makers often fit 110V units with a lighter motor and pump, a point owners raise on the Garage Journal forum. The car goes just as high on the same capacity; the trip up can simply take longer. Compare models, not voltages: the 110V Triumph four-posts list about 40 seconds, the same as Triumph's 220V two-posts, while AMGO's 110V lifts list 56 to 84 seconds and its 220V lifts 37 to 69. At home, an extra half-minute rarely matters. In a busy bay, it adds up.
4. Check the outlet, not just the voltage
The NSS-8 Classic and NSS8X-1 run from a normal garage outlet, and the AMGO 110V listings say no dedicated circuit is needed. The standard NSS-8 and NSS-8XLT are different: they call for 30 amps, and a typical garage outlet isn't rated for that. Know what else shares the circuit, too. A freezer, compressor or heater on the same breaker can trip it halfway up.
5. Skip the extension cord
A lift is a permanent fixture, and a cord that's too thin, too long or doubled up can run hot. The Electrical Safety Foundation International explains why, and OSHA's wiring rules bar cords standing in for permanent wiring in workplaces. Have an electrician add an outlet where the power unit will stand.
6. Confirm single-phase
Every lift we sell that states a phase is single-phase, which is what homes and most small shops have. The NT-9, NT-11 and NTO-11A listings don't state a phase. If your building has three-phase service, or you aren't sure, call us before you order.
7. Plan for outages, and leave generators outside
None of our listings cover generator use, so ask the manufacturer and your electrician first. A running generator belongs outdoors, away from the house; the Consumer Product Safety Commission explains the carbon monoxide risk. Many hydraulic lifts can still be lowered without power through a manual valve or lever; the NSS-8XLT's power unit has a manual lowering lever. Read your model's lowering steps before you need them.
8. Book the electrician before the lift arrives
Every 220V listing we carry says it: wire first. A lift on a pallet in the driveway can't be used, and once it's installed, anchored or wired it can't be returned. Give your electrician the exact model, its spec sheet and installation manual, and where the power unit will stand. Wiring, breaker size and outlet type are their call, based on the manual and your local code.
Check for compressed air, too. The PRO-12SX needs it for its lock release, and the AMGO RJ-6A, RJ-8A and RJ-10A bridge jacks need about 116 PSI. The AMGO RJ-6H and Triumph SJ-35 use hand pumps instead.
Never hired an electrician, or already run a welder?
- No electrical work wanted: stick to lifts listed for a normal outlet, like the NSS-8 Classic, C-7000 and the AMGO portables.
- 220V already in the garage: the whole two-post range opens up. Just confirm the circuit is free for the lift and sized to its manual.
Frequently asked questions
Do I need 220V for a car lift?
Not for most four-post, portable and single-post lifts. In our range, only the fixed two-posts and the AMGO PRO-12SX need 220V.
Can I run a 220V lift on 110V power?
No. A lift listed for a dedicated 220V circuit is built for it. Choose a 110V model or have a licensed electrician add the circuit.
Do I need an electrician for a 110V lift?
Often not. Many of our 110V lifts run from a standard outlet. The NSS-8 needs a 30A receptacle and the NSS-8XLT a dedicated 30A breaker, so you may need one for those.
Which two-post lift runs on 110V?
In our lineup, only the Triumph C-7000 portable two-post.
Does a 110V lift hold as much weight as a 220V lift?
Capacity depends on the lift, not the voltage. The 110V Triumph NSS-11 is rated for 11,000 lbs, more than several of our 220V two-posts.
Not sure what your garage can supply? Send us your setup and the lift you have in mind through our Free Fit Check, and we'll tell you exactly what it needs. We'll gladly send the manufacturer's manual for your electrician, too. Call or text 1-800-771-1278, or read our two-post vs. four-post guide, lift sizing guide and installation checklist. Installation isn't included, but our lift installation page explains how we refer installers.
Talk to a real person before you buy.
We'll beat any authorized dealer's price, and we support your equipment for as long as you own it.